and…the Cancer is Back

This sucks, huh? I really wanted to beat this with no
re-occurrence!

I have a tumor near the original location and mets in
my lungs. I started avasten and taxotire last night
along with lots  of pain meds.

I was in the hospital addressing the kidney problem when they found the cancer. The nefrostomy (put a tube through my back tp drain the kidney, likely to always have one now.) they performed does not seem to be a big deal now,

They do not think surgery is an option. I think
because it would be very tough involve a long recovery
and initially the loss and later reconstruction of
some important parts of me, with little hope for
stopping the cancer from ever coming back in that
area. I now see why retropereteneal is so bad. The
mass is 1/2 the size of the original and I was in
agony most of the week. (I guess if I had not had the
lung mets surgery was the way to go.)

I may not lose my hair this time, but I have lots of great wigs if I need them, One if the things that really ticks me off is that I can’t drive now. (too much pain medication. Mrs. Woods and I are trying to work out a way that I can still work for her even though I can’t drive. Bear may take over my computer support business, (what is ledt of it) I can no longer provide the quality of support that my clients need, One more thing to cry over.
I am doing okay, I wanted it to be different but I
knew this was the most likely outcome. I am sad and
disappointed but not completely surprised.

3 Responses to “and…the Cancer is Back”


  1. 1 Kim November 16, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Yes, it sucks!! I am so sorry, and you are in my thoughts!

  2. 2 Shadowlands November 29, 2008 at 9:01 am

    This kind of news takes a lot of courage to face…

    I remember when they told my husband and I that it was back after the massive debulking surgery that he had a year later…
    My heart hurts for you and yours…

    Don’t give up on beating this enemy…give this a good fight in spite of it all…I know you will.

    Keep posting, Rose…we are out here for you…

    Your friend,
    Shadowlands

  3. 3 Jan December 3, 2008 at 10:32 pm

    I have followed your blog since I found you on my good friend Annette’s blog and wanted you to know I am thinking of you, and prayers continue.

    Having a child with Down syndrome and sarcoma kind of makes you a bit special in my book as Annette was one of my best friends.


Leave a Reply

