Update

I spent the night in the ER. fever, chills, vomiting. Very yucky. On the bright side, my Mom bought me some new slippers, because something unfortunate happened to my old ones.

It seems I have a full blown kidney infection. Big surprise. Has many UTI’s as I have had since the beginning  of the cancer adventure, it had to happen sooner or latter. Lots of antibiotics now, urologist visit later.

My oncologist say it is not related to the cancer, I am doing very well of that front. I have a CT scan in a couple of weeks. If it turns out well I may get to quit giving myself the shots of blood thinner. Now there is something to look forward to!

I gained back a lot of the weight I lost last year, which annoyed me. What is the point of losing all the weight, just to gain it back? It seemed unfair to me. I thought the weight loss was like a reward, You have cancer-bad news, but you get to be skinny-good news. I did not know about the next part, you gain it back-bad news, but, it is there in case you need it-good news. I have lost about 10 pounds with the kidney infection. So, a little extra weight is a good thing, you might need it if you get sick.  Imagine the poor super model, she does not have 10 pounds to spare.

So over all I am good, better the yesterday. It certainly easier to have a good attitude if you feel good. When I was in the ER mine was really bad.

4 Responses to “Update”


  1. 1 shadowlands1501 July 11, 2008 at 2:41 am

    I am so happy about your CT results…NO CANCER….that is something to celebrate, but a kidney infection is not what I had in mind and I know it wasn’t what you wanted either.

    Your attitude is great and that is the heart of any battle no matter what the adversity…

    Be prepared for your heir to come back in curly…at least that is what most people experience….eyebrows are tricky…a good eyebrow pencil is a handy thing…

    Why is it the hair on the legs the first to come back???

    Things are looking good for you…I think you are one of the lucky ones….God is good…..

  2. 2 Linda July 12, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    HI!!!
    Hope you are feeling better. Glad that cancer is GONE!!!
    Thats so awesome.

  3. 3 chagiyomi July 24, 2008 at 10:05 am

    I wanted to wish you nothing but clean CT scans!!! I am a medical student who has had cancer myself and wanted simply to stop in and share.

    It is fantastic that things are looking so much better for you despite the infection, and it is certainly good to have some residual weight in the event of infections.

    Out of curiosity do you use anything to stimulate your immune system?

    For example UTI’s (urinary tract infections) some folks take a lot of cranberry juice to acidify urine, as well as a course of antibiotics (TMP/SMX or “co-trimoxazole”) to sterilize urine to reduce incidence of UTI.

    I hope that you heal quickly and get back in the saddle soon!!!!

  4. 4 loveathome August 16, 2008 at 11:34 am

    I have done some things (such as cranberry juice) for the UTI’s but since mine, it turns out, is caused by a constriction between the kidney and the bladder it doesn’t really help. 😦

    I am still doing well, and when I feel good, marveling at my good fortune. This could have been so much worse. I feel very blessed.


Leave a Reply

