Counting Down

Tomorrow I go for chemo. After that I have just one more treatment and then I am done until/unless it comes back again.

Treatment has been pretty easy.  I feel good most of the time. The side effects I had were things I can live with. If everyone who does weekly taxol get off as easy as I did it a pretty impressive treatment.

Next I have tests. Lots and lots of tests every 3 months, but I do not think they will line up right, so it might be more like a pelvic and a consultation next week, a CT scan in June and an MRI in August. Then we repeat the whole thing every three months over and over again, for the next two years. After that the tests are done less often, which I find a little scary, but maybe something will change by then so I am not going to try not lose any sleep over it.

Even though most of the time I feel really good.  I still have moments where I feel that I am doomed, that the cancer is going to come back and next time it will kill me. Sadly it is always a possibility. I do not know if I will ever feel safe again, or even if I should. Angiosarcoma is an awful cancer. It almost always comes back. I have found maybe 3 people who have survived their diagnosis over 5 years.

I have done every thing that can be done and now I have to simply wait and see what happens.

4 Responses to “Counting Down”


  1. 1 shadowlands1501 May 15, 2008 at 8:00 am

    I am so glad that you are done with the treatment phase of this cancer. I truly believe that you have beat this.
    Now, it is time to live. Really live your life.
    Cancer seems to have a way in clarifying life, its value and its purpose.
    Go on, now and live. Don’t look back just go forward and live like never before….
    God Bless you and Stand on what has been accomplished…
    Yeah!!!

  2. 2 Linda May 18, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    Hi,
    Its been a while since I have come by.
    I am glad to hear you are doing well.
    You have been in my thoughts.
    Hoping to hear only good news from you.
    Linda

  3. 3 Eva October 25, 2008 at 9:42 pm

    Hi, Glad to hear you are almost finished with your cancer treatments. I had angiosarcoma of the breast and just had surgery, wich is the only treatment my doc seems to think I will need, even though he says it can come back. Where did yours start? Where are you having treatments? How long have you been a survivor? God bless. I will keep you in my prayers and please keep me in yours!

  4. 4 loveathome November 7, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Eva-
    Sorry to take so long getting back to you. I was in the hospital.

    We did surgery, radiation and chemo with Taxol.b

    Mine started, and now is back, in my pelvis, Just over a year between diagnosis and re-occurrence.

    I am treating at the Sarcoma Center at the University of Iowa.

    All prayers are awesome and greatly appreciated. A great deal of my survival is in God’s hands.


Leave a Reply

