The Royal Life

I had no idea that I had never posted this here. It is from my My Space site, I wrote it a couple of years ago. My theme came out of this piece.

A while back I heard someone on the radio say that if we were living in the middle ages but still had the same life style we have now, we would need a staff of hundreds of people working round the clock to fulfill our wants and needs.

Instead of turning on the TV, I clap my hands and summon my players who perform whatever entertainment I had chosen for the evening.

My dishwasher is a kitchen maid and my cell phone a swift running page. My a car is an magical carriage drawn by the fleetest team in all the land.

My books are created especially for me by a team of tireless scribes, I marvel that they can keep up with me.

There are farmers and butchers, seamstresses and launderers, and all the riches and land needed to support them. I would need a substantial estate maintain my station. I would need a kingdom.

So, I have decided I am a queen. I bought a little crown at Walmart. I am amazed at how a silly little inexpensive thing like wearing a plastic crown around the house can be so fun and motivating. My little kids love it, my husband and the older ones think I am nuts.

But, there is more to being a queen then riches and power, I need to be frugal so I do not bankrupt the kingdom. I need to practice diplomacy, and maintain good relations with the neighboring kingdoms and those people who live within my own borders. I need to remember that I represent the entire kingdom by what I do and say, and how I present my self.

If I am a queen then my husband is the king and I need to show him the respect he deserves and listen to his counsel.

I have a palace that has been run down from years of neglect but it is time to whip in into shape. There is no reason that my royal family should be living in a pigsty.

As a queen I can also afford to be magnanimous and pardon, with a discreet nod of my head, the man who flipped me off on the way home from getting groceries. Since I was not wearing my crown perhaps he did not realize who he was being so disrespectful to. Lucky for him I am not planning any beheadings in the near future.

1 Response to “The Royal Life”


  1. 1 shadowlands1501 January 17, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    I thoroughly enjoyed this posting. I never looked at being Queen of my post stamp of a Kingdom…what wimsy, I love it….*Big Smile* Of course, I would have to have royal soldiers to be on guard for those who would want to over through my authority…like my little shit zui…In reality, He is the king of the kingdom and just allows us lowly subjects to serve him and his every need….LOL


Leave a Reply

