Why Me?

 I am of course hoping to be here long term, but my thoughts often turn those who don’t make it and I ask myself, why should I be the one who beats this and not them? Why was I fortunate enough to find it early, lucky enough (blessed?) to have it originate in a location that gives me a chance at survival.

The rest of the time I am asking my self, Why me? How can I have cancer? I am relatively young, I am healthy and I have(had) a positive attitude. (everyone tells me that that is the key to survival, “you’ll  be fine as long as you stay positive.” I think I will be happier staying positive but I don’t think it will ultimately
save me.)

But today my dear husband told me why I have cancer, “You used to smoke.” and then I hit him. 🙂

3 Responses to “Why Me?”


  1. 1 shadowlands1501 January 9, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Good for you, Rose. That isn’t the reason….you and I both know it..It is those kinds of things that work against us and smoking has nothing to do with your kind of cancer….Stresses are more to blame for the immune system to break down and set us up to not be able to fight off things that are around us all of the time….MOre and more research points to stresful events, major emotional losses etc. and they now have CT Scans that prove that cancer shadows these event.
    In my husband’s life, I know the exact time when the cancer occurred and I also know the events that coorlates. I will try and send info to you….
    Attitude, is important, but honesty is more important…it is your life and receiving negative thoughts (they especially hurt deeply from those that we love) just can’t be tolerated….
    LOML needed the smack….and you need to throw those words out of your ears….Cancer is not that simple. If it was, there would be a cure by now….I have some stats on my web site that supports my statement…Stop by again sometime, WonderingRose

  2. 2 shadowlands1501 January 9, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Rose
    Check this article out….http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2007/08/21/a-new-view-of-cancer-german-new-medicine.aspx
    This article was sent to us by one of our doctors…we find it has a lot of truth for our situation. My husband’s cancer developed within five years of his second divorce from a wife who is bi polar and the mother of his youngest child. I can’t begin to tell you the stresses he endured prior to our being together. I can give one example of his being confronted at gun point in the driveway with his daughter being held in an upstairs window. She was being withheld on a regular basis. When he went to pick her up, on more than one occasion, a red laser light would be on his chest as he pulled in the driveway….Those were the early years, the later ones were just as difficult…He developed cancer, unknown to us, three years into our marriage…we didn’t know he had cancer until two and one-half years ago….Hope this helps you understand more about “whys”

  3. 3 loveathome January 9, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    That would stress me out for sure.

    I did not have a lot off stress, well not in the last couple of years. I quit a very stressful job 5 years ago, I made up my mind that life is to short (I REALLY know it now!) to spend one moment being miserable. I worked for 3 years waiting for the job to get better and then I walked out and started my own business.

    My business was starting to really take off when I got sick. Now it is almost gone. I am not too upset about it. I no longer seem to have the drive it takes to keep it going. It is a one woman show so if I were to die it would die anyway.

    I currently am working as a personal assistant for a friend and enjoy my job very much.

    The only stress I have now is cancer, 🙂 but even that is nothing compared to the stress the pain caused.

    I so LOVE feeling good!


Leave a Reply

