Hectic Holidays

After my really down last post and not updating for a while I just want to let every one know that I am fine. I was just having a bad day. I get like that sometimes.

I have just completed my 17th of 35 radiation treatments and am having some side effects but nothing I can’t handle. The worst part of the whole thing is the drive over to treatment. With the weather it usually takes at least  an hour each way. I go late in the day after work so by the time I finally get home I am just wore out and my house really shows it.

It would be worse but Sissy and Coder are spending most nights with my son and daughter in law, at least when school is in  session. With Loml working 2nd shift it is a big help for me to be able to sleep when ever I need to and not to have to worry about what Sissy is doing.

The holidays have been great. My sister is here. We celebrated my father’s 80th birthday yesterday. The big eight-o! How can that be?

I m just starting to plan my little Epiphany thing. It dawned on me the other day that it is my chance to do a celebration just the way I want and not have accommodate someone else’s idea  of how it should be done. I have a vision of what Christmas would be like, but can never pull it off, because Loml’s birthday is Christmas Eve and he thinks we should be celebrating that instead. 🙂 Christmas Day throws my parents and his mother into the mix, as well as allowing for the schedules of the older kids running to their-in-laws or whatever. Epiphany is all mine and this year falls on a Saturday, even the school can not stop me. 🙂 I have a special casual dinner planned for the night before, we will read some great Christmas stories, hot coco and then off to bed, for Sissy and Coder, to wait the arrival of La Bufana and her goodies. The next day we will have a brunch, maybe a breakfast casserole, followed by a more formal dinner with Panetone for dessert and  Christmas Crackers to pull. The stuff is on clearance now, in a way my Epiphany is like Christmas Lite. Almost Christmas, but cheaper.  🙂

1 Response to “Hectic Holidays”


  1. 1 shadowlands1501 January 2, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    Congrats on your almost half way point in treatment. I was glad to see your post. The holidays are always hectic and I, too have felt that I would like to celebrate these holidays with my ideas of Christmas. Sometimes, the accomidating everyone’s schedule takes a lot out of the wonder of this time of year.
    Epiphany wasn’t one of the holidays celebrated in my childhood. In fact, I just discovered it the past few weeks as well as learning that there are traditions for the 12 days of Christmas…I need to have a celebration that is free of what other’s do for it…
    My Christmas Tree stays up until I get around to taking it down, so maybe if I have a celebration of the Three Kings and their journey, I have a great excuse to have it up and shining….
    Hapyy New Year to you and yours…we made it to another year, here and that is all the celebration that counts…


Leave a Reply

