I Have a Primary!

I have spent the last two days talking to doctors at the university hospital. Apparently I “won” the cancer lottery, I have a retroperitoneal  angiosarcoma. Sarcomas are rare soft tissue cancers, about 6000 cases a year here in the US. About 600 of those 6000 are angiosarcomas. Who knows how many of those are retroperitoneal (which pertains to location.) Oh lucky, lucky me. I have always been unique but this is going to the extreme! With odds like this I should buy a real lottery ticket. 🙂

Good News

I have a primary, it is better to know what you are fighting.

My new Dr.  is a sarcoma expert.

I do not have to do chemo now.

I had not cut my hair.

I can send the wig back.

50% of people with this type of cancer live 10 years or more. (per my doctor)

Not so Good News

I do not want to talk about the other 50%.

I will have to do radiation everyday for 6 weeks.

The mass may come back…

…or appear somewhere else in my body.

If we do more surgery I risk losing a leg…

…or something worse.

I have to start shaving my legs again. (at least I still have two of them.)

I gave away all my hair coloring and am really looking grey. 🙂

3 Responses to “I Have a Primary!”


  1. 1 Linda November 1, 2007 at 9:37 pm

    Hey, great news. Maybe not about shaving your legs. = P
    I hate that, but hey what can you do. = )
    I would just think about the 1st 50%..
    Good Luck
    Linda

  2. 2 loveathome November 2, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I am pretty happy about the diagnosis.

    Scared but happy, at least now I know what I am afraid of. 🙂

  3. 3 Eva October 25, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    HI, Sounds like you are beating this stuff! I too found out that I have angiosarcoma of the breast. Just had surgery. Am doing great. Guess there are a “few” of those of us that are unique! lol Trust God, He can heal us!”


Leave a Reply

