An Epiphany

Nearly every waking moment, in the weeks since my diagnosis, I have been chanting “I have cancer” in my head, trying to believe the unbelievable. I have been terrified since reading of the poor survival rates for Cancer of an Unknown Primary. Because of the stress I am not sleeping well (better than before surgery by a long shot however) and I find it hard to enjoy life.

Then this morning like a bolt from the blue, it hit me, the answer to a prayer, I do not have cancer. (bear with me here, it is goofy but it works out) I had cancer, I had a mass removed that was a stage IV andcarninoma with and unknown primary, but right now I have nothing, I am healthy and I feel great! I do not have cancer until I have it again, if I ever have it again. I will do my chemo and take all the tests I need to keep me healthy but I do not currently have cancer.

Now I can finally get on with my life.

1 Response to “An Epiphany”


  1. 1 Linda October 21, 2007 at 2:20 pm

    Thats a great attitude to have. Attitude has a lot to do with healing. (I have heard…= ) ).
    Just make every moment count. We all must do this, none of us know when it will be our time to return home.
    God has given us today, and today is what we have.
    Good Luck with Chemo, and take it easy, and rest as much as you can too.
    Linda


Leave a Reply

