Can’t We all Just Get Along?

These was originally posted on my other blog 18 Mar 2006

They say that you should never talk about politics or religion, if you do there is bound to be an argument. My mother and I sometimes argue politics, it does not help that she keeps changing her positions, one day she is pro-choice, the next day pro-life. I never know where she stands, but it is likely to be the opposite of where I am.

If you ask me how I feel on an issue I will be happy to tell you. If you tell me you do not feel the same way I am okay with that too. But if you beat me about the head and shoulders trying to prove me that you are right and I am wrong, I am unlikely to thank you for showing me the error of me ways, there is a strong possibility I will feel threatened and defensive.

Religion is an especially volitle subject. All of it is carried in our own hearts, there is nothing we can actually prove to one another.

This is especially true if we are of different faiths. I could try to show you where I feel the scriptures contradict your beliefs and you would show me where you feel they support them. I am unlikely to know the tenets of your faith as well as you do, and would be looking at things from an entirely different perspective.

I particularly love when someone trys to tell me what I really believe, or that I do not know the what the Church is really teaching. If I respond at all it starts an argument. If I do not respond then my faith is misrepresented. It becomes an unending cycle, no one ever wins, feelings are hurt and sometimes friendships are destroyed. I have never seen any good come of it. In the continued arguing any loving intent is swallowed up in the spirit of contention.

Share with me what you believe. I enjoy learning about other cultures and faiths, but please treat my beliefs with the same respect you want for yours.

9 Responses to “Can’t We all Just Get Along?”


  1. 1 Linda Walsh June 3, 2006 at 11:50 am

    Hi,
    this is linda from choosinghome.com. I want to thank you so much for your latest post.
    I was near tears because I wanted to tell them over and over again how they were making me and most LDS families feel.
    I was itching to respond, but I knew that I had to stop and remove myself. Thank you for doing a wonderful job of explaining the draining effect that their accusations have on us…

  2. 2 Laura June 4, 2006 at 10:52 pm

    I just posted for the first time in this conversation, though I’ve been following along as best I can – 138 posts in two days! Anyway, I just asked the same question you did in comment #98 and I’m interested in what your thoughts are as to what makes a Christian. How do you define who is a Christian? And if they pass that litmus test of fitting into that definition of Christianity, do you believe that all Christians are going to heaven? I am TOTALLY not being antagonistic here. I want to know the same thing of the protestant side of the conversation. It’s hard to understand the conversation completely of what makes one a Christian without understanding the defintion(s) we’re talking about. So, what are your thoughts?

  3. 3 loveathome June 5, 2006 at 11:43 am

    What a great question Laura!

    Personally I believe that if you recognize the divinity of Christ, and that He is the the Son of God, and you accept His attonement for the remission of your sins, you are a Christian.

    I also however believe that it is more important that Christ recognize me as a Christian, than that I have the approval of anyone hear on earth, and of course I show that by becoming completely bogged down in this discussion over at Choosing Home! 🙂

    Because of the teaching of the Church (LDS) I do believe that almost all of us will enter Heaven. This is so important to me because I want salvation for my parents, and sister, and all those that I love, I can not envision Heaven without them being there.

    We are taught that teaching and learning continue in a spiritual state after death, if you have not accepted Christ’s message (at this point I am talking about the LDS doctrine) in this life, you still have the opportunity after death. That is why we perform baptisms by proxy for the dead. (thus ultimately the thief of the cross is or will be baptized)

    It is up to the individual what they do with the work that is done for them, they could still reject it, but I hope that being in a more enlightened state they will not.

  4. 4 Laura June 5, 2006 at 11:54 am

    Very interesting! So, in order to be saved, you must be baptized and you still have a chance to accept the good works done in your name by others still on earth after you die. Is this kind of like purgatory or something? How long do you get to choose this after-life salvation?

    Also, you said “Because of the teaching of the Church (LDS) I do believe that almost all of us will enter Heaven. This is so important to me because I want salvation for my parents, and sister, and all those that I love, I can not envision Heaven without them being there.”
    Does that mean almost all LDS will enter heaven (and why not all)? or does it mean almost all Christians (and again, why not all)?

    Thank you for having this conversation with me – I really don’t want to debate my faith over yours – I just want to learn about yours. 🙂

  5. 5 Bonnie June 5, 2006 at 4:59 pm

    Thanks, wanderingrose, for your input over at choosinghome. I know it was exhausting and a bit frusterating (as it was for me, too, and I didn’t comment all that much!) Thank you for trying hard!

  6. 6 loveathome June 6, 2006 at 9:49 pm

    Laura,

    I believe, keeping in mind that these are personal beliefs, that almost all of humanity will share in at least some degree of glory.

    I believe those who can not the enter in are those who are completly evil and so firmly entrenched in their rebelion against God that they can not or refuse to be saved.

  7. 7 Laura June 6, 2006 at 10:44 pm

    Thank you so much for talking with me about this! I appreciate the time you took to talk with me and know that I value your part in this conversation. I think it’s really important that we’re able to discuss our differences of belief, learn about each other, and support each other as women, as mothers, wives and friends. We share differences in our faiths, but that shouldn’t change the fact that we can lift each other up and encourage one another as we go through life. I hope that you will continue to visit my blog and I will continue to visit yours!

  8. 8 HolyExperience June 7, 2006 at 2:21 pm

    Wandering Rose,
    I just wanted to express how much I appreciate you and your part in the conversation at Choosing Home. Your voice and perspective matter. And I am very, very sorry for the pain you experienced of the last few days.
    Warmly…..


  1. 1 Love at Home » Why I Should Play with the Kids on My Own Block Trackback on June 6, 2006 at 10:50 pm

Leave a Reply

