Garden Dreaming

Buy at Art.com
Lilacs by the Window
Buy From Art.com

It is beautiful day. The sun is shining and it is warm. I can hear the squirrels chattering outside the window. The first thing I thought was how they sound like spring. The next thought was that these are the little rotters I will be battling for everything I get out of my garden, along with their friend the groundhog next door. He wiped me out completely the last time I did any serious gardening. I may march over to the neighbors and bang on their door, “Are you still harboring that groundhog under your porch?” I hope the new people are less tolerant of him.

The garden is going to be pretty small. I just do not have the space for anything substantial. I am planning to plant potatoes above ground in straw, but of course after I bought everything, (I think I could have bought a twenty pound bag of potatoes for less and saved me the work,) Loml pointed out that after the first big wind, my potatoes will be laying bare on the ground and the whole block will be buried in straw. Why doesn’t he say this stuff before I spend the money?

I am also planting seedless grapes, I guess they will not self germinate. The grapes are what I think the squirrels will be going for. I wonder if a plastic will scare them off?

Other then that I am planting flowers, some peonies, a lilac bush and some bulbs. I would like to plant vegetables, but to be honest I am the only one who will even touch fresh vegetables and it would be a waste. I’ll just go to the farmers market instead.

I am just waiting on the weather now. It would be just like me to jump the gun and lose it all in a frost.

Most of the flowers are going to the side yard where I can see them from the dinning room window. I am planting them for me not for the people who speed down the hill.

I am especially looking forward to having lilacs. We had a lilac tree in the back yard of a place we lived when I was a girl. I used to take a book and spend the day sitting in the tree reading. I can not smell lilacs with out thinking of that tree. That house was converted to a business a few years ago. They ripped my old friend out by the roots to put in a parking area. I am sure no one will love the parking spot as much as I loved that tree.

0 Responses to “Garden Dreaming”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

