Friendship

Friendship is a treasure
A jewel that’s without price

Nowhere in my scribblings
Are there words which can suffice

To express the warmth and joy
I feel within my heart

From knowing I have friends
And true friends never part

'Tho miles may seperate them
Or oceans wide and deep

In spirit they are together
True friendship does not sleep

I wrote this a few years ago as a Christmas gift to one of my best friends. I feel a little funny about it now, our friendship has been really tested and it has failed. I talked to her today for what will probably be the last time.

She has made big changes in here life over the past few years, most of them are not positive, and many are distructive to herself and her family. The friend I had for the better part of 30 years is gone and I do not know who this woman living in her body is.

I can not support the pain she is causing her family, and she doesn't really care whether or not we have any contact anyway so I am through.

I feel very sad but this has been coming for the last year so I can't say I am surprised.

If I ever decide to have a midlife crisis I hope I do something more sensible, like take up skydiving or learn snake charming.

Leave a Reply

