Welcome to Love at Home

Love at Home is the title of a hymn that discribes what I would like to have in my own home.

I am Rose, I am a married mom of four children, two of which; one boy, one girl; are still at home. My son is 15 and my daughter is 19, she has down syndrome which makes our lives a bit more complicated then we had planned. One of my older sons is married and they live not far from me and the other son lives a few hours from here.

I am really working on the “good wife” part of my life. Something I struggle with sometimes, but I can tell that my husband appreciates my efforts.

I am a member of the “Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints.” We joined when I was pregnant with my daughter and I know that the Lord led us there. We were going through a very bad spot in our lives and were barely hanging on when our daughter was born and tipped everything into chaos. I have never been so depressed in my life. I do not know how we would have coped without the love and fellowship shown to us by the members of the Church. They helped us both spritually and finacailly and I am forever grateful.

I am not exclusively a stay at home mom, I quit working 3 years ago and started a small computer support business. I also sell used book at a local market. I do not make nearly the money I used to make but I am not crazy either, so it is worth it to me.

I love working on making my home the kind of place it should be and so I read a lot of home management books and blogs. I am not organized by nature, but with help from the Spirit I am progressing. I am finding that a lot of home management has to do with attitude, the more I recognize that it is a privilege and blessing to care for this home and this family the more I enjoy it.

3 Responses to “Welcome to Love at Home”


  1. 1 shadowlands1501 November 3, 2007 at 10:34 pm

    Hello Rose
    I am Naomi. I have a sister with Down’s Syndrome. Me and my older sister are her guardians because our folks have gone home with Jesus. The other thing that we have in common is cancer. My husband is the victim and I am his caretaker.

    Just wanted to say, I enjoy your blog and I have some understanding of some parts of your life. You are not alone, rose….

    I will be checking back….on you, Sissy and your primary.

    God Bless
    Shadowlands1501

  2. 2 loveathome November 5, 2007 at 10:28 am

    Thanks Naomi. (what a beautiful name!)

    I am glad you stopped by.

    I am sorry to hear that your family is also going through the cancer adventure, I would not wish it on anyone.

    It is so good that you and your older sister can help now that your parents are gone. I know my oldest son and is wife will take care of Sissy for me in a worse case scenario, and that is a great relief.

  3. 3 shadowlands1501 December 11, 2007 at 1:25 pm

    Rose
    I thought that I would share my blog with you…it is from a caregivers view point and a wife for a husband with a rare cancer. It may be “dark” for you, but if you find it so, you don’t have to come…..Just thought that I would share “my place in the road” with you. http://shadowlands1501.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

