It all Depends on Your Attitude

When I was young I was taught (perhaps not intentionally) that cleaning and housework were drudgery. I remember spending what seemed like hours cleaning up my room. In reality I was just moving the mess around. I had no idea how to organize my things or even how to begin cleaning the room in an orderly way.

After I got married I knew I did not want to spend my day cleaning, I would read a book while the dishes sat in the sink. I do not regret doing this nearly as much as I should, children soon took up the time I used to give to reading, and the work still piled up. I tried telling myself it did not matter what my house looked like but it was chaos and affected every member of the family. I could not find anything, bills, school assignments, tools and who knows what else, all become lost in the clutter. I would buy something I needed and then find I had three of them already, buried in the mess. My life was chaos and my family was along for the ride.

The turn in the road came when my mother and I attended a seminar given by Deniece Schofield,  author of "Confessions of an Organized Homemaker"  (I confess, my copy is so old it is titled "Confessions of an Organized Housewife.") She demonstrated decluttering technics and we sat there with our mouths hanging open. I had no idea that there was a right way to do these things! I couldn’t wait to get home and start throwing things out.

I bought every decluttering/housekeeping book I could get my hands on. Now half of my clutter was books on how to declutter. I was making progress but I still didn’t get it. I would get things straightened up and two weeks later be back where I started. I blamed my husband, I blamed my job, I blamed my kids, and I even blamed the dog, but the house was still a mess.

I Finally hit a turning point when it dawned on me that my home is the most important place in the world, to me and my family anyway, and I have the honor and privilege of creating the atmosphere I want to raise my family in.

My home is not perfect and unlikely to ever be but I now truly enjoy doing what it takes to improve it. I find that my husband and the kids are more willing to do their part and are cheerful about it too. It is like magic, I do not even have to ask them, they just do it.

But the biggest change in my home is the one in my own heart, it is all a matter of attitude.

0 Responses to “It all Depends on Your Attitude”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

